Patience And Faith

I know it’s been a while since I have posted anything, so because of that I thought I would double up this one. So instead of one topic, I have two topics that go hand in hand with each other. They are patience and faith. Let’s start with patience first.

            Patience. It is one thing in my life that I struggle with daily. Sometimes almost hourly. I have to remind myself everyday, that everything I want will not be handed to me right this second. I’m sure I’m not the only person who feels like that. In fact, everyone probably feels like that at one time or another.

            There’s the old adage that all good things come to those who wait. I may be horrible at practicing patience but, in the relatively short time that I have been striving to be a happier person, I have seen how true that adage is. I have some things now that I never thought I would have or, at least, not have for a very long time. What it took for me to get those things was taking a step back from what I thought I wanted and finding the patience to figure out who I am and what I want my life to be. I am so much more appreciative of what I have now because I took the time to be patient and think about what I really wanted.

            Patience wasn’t the only virtue involved in figuring out things about my life. There was hard work, determination, and a lot of self-acceptance. But if I hadn’t found some patience and realized that it takes time to get what you want, I would not be where I am as a person now. Nor would I have this blog. Nor would I have self published a collection of my poetry.

            Now let’s talk about faith. Patience and faith are like best friends. You really can’t have one without the other.  You can have faith in many things. Faith in yourself that you can handle what life gives you. Faith in your journey. That you know you’re heading in the right direction. Faith in the Divine. That no matter what happens you’ll be okay. 

            Faith is another part of life that can be difficult. Believing in something you can’t see or touch. It’s a very hard concept to try to think about because our very logical brains want something to physically see or touch. But faith is not about the brain. It’s about your heart.  It’s about your soul. It’s about knowing, truly knowing, that there is something bigger than you. Moreover, knowing that that something bigger than you, is always there for you and will always love you.

            Faith is another thing I struggle with from time to time. But , as with patience, I everyone does. We all want certainty in our lives. Faith is believing without having certainty.

Patience and faith are two of the most difficult virtues that as human beings, to understand and put into practice. The irony of that is that they are two of the most important virtues in our everyday lives. You really can’t have one without the other. But they can be practiced and strengthened and they will both enrich your life in ways you can’t imagine.

One thought on “Patience And Faith

  1. Heather you are an amazing writer!! Honestly, you should think about writing a book. Very thought provoking. I admire your talent! Keep it up 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

