Anger Heart

This is an old poem that I found stuck in between pages of an uncompleted story. I’m not even sure how old it is. A couple of years at least.
It’s amazing how we can write something, tuck it away somewhere, and find it later on like a piece of buried treasure. Then when we read it, it feels like something that came from a totally different person. That’s how I feel about this poem.
I definitely remember feeling this way. I’ve felt like that for most of my life. But my perspective on things are different now and reading this I feel tremendous sympathy for the person I was. Not only for the things other people put me through but for what I put myself through.

Anger Heart

So much anger.

No one knows

How it fills me up

And never lets go.

I can’t deflect it away.

I can’t shield it.

It encompasses all of me.

Engulfs all of me

In bitterness and cold.

They are anger’s friends;

Never far from anger’s side.

Never far from my heart.

Leave a Reply

